A Forgery of Roses

A FORGERY OF ROSES final cover feb 2022.jpg

Buy Now!

Myra Whitlock has a gift. One many would kill for.

She’s an artist whose portraits alter people’s real-life bodies, a talent she must hide from those who would kidnap, blackmail, and worse in order to control it. Guarding that secret is the only way to keep her younger sister safe now that their parents are gone.

But one frigid night, the governor’s wife discovers the truth and threatens to expose Myra if she does not complete a special portrait that would resurrect the governor's dead son. Desperate, Myra ventures to his legendary stone mansion.

Once she arrives, however, it becomes clear the boy’s death was no accident. Someone dangerous lurks within these glittering halls. Someone harboring a disturbing obsession with portrait magic.

Myra cannot do the painting until she knows what really happened, so she turns to the governor’s older son, a captivating redheaded poet. Together, they delve into the family’s most shadowed affairs, racing to uncover the truth before the secret Myra spent her life concealing makes her the killer’s next victim.

From Sing Me Forgotten author Jessica S. Olson comes a gothic fantasy murder mystery perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Erin A. Craig.

“This effortless blend of fantasy, sisterly love, sweet romance, and murder mystery is a gorgeous take... A heady blend of the fantastical, the murderous, and the romantic.

Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review

"A satisfying dark fantasy of art, science, romance, and murder... A triumphant second novel, Olson’s not-to-be-missed tale of intrigue has something for everyone."

School Library Journal, STARRED review

"Marvelously magical and steeping with mystery, A Forgery of Roses checks all the boxes you could want in a fantasy. With a highly creative magic system reminiscent of The Picture of Dorian Gray and a lush romance, Olson’s newest is an absolute stunner that’s sure to be a crowd pleaser."

—Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

 

"A Forgery of Roses is a haunted gallery filled with secrets, ominous footsteps through a fog-wreathed city at midnight, and the fierce magic of a sister's love. Jessica Olson paints a multilayered narrative of romance and mystery that will hold readers in suspense until the final chapters."

—Lyndall Clipstone, author of Lakesedge

 

A deliciously twisted gothic fantasy you’ll want to read again and again, with characters you’ll adore, prose that’ll spellbind you, romance you’ll swoon over, and a mystery that’ll keep you guessing until the last stunning twist. A Forgery of Roses is totally addicting and captivating, and I already can’t wait to re-read it!”

—Diana Urban, author of These Deadly Games